Free movement of persons within the Schengen Area

The Schengen Agreement supports the free movement of persons within the EU member states. This means that regular border controls have been eliminated. Having said that, pursuant to applicable law, travellers (including children and infants) must have identification and carry the accordant travel documents (ID card, passport, emergency passport) with them at all times.

Driving licences, bank and credit cards or similar documents are not recognised as valid travel documents, nor will such be accepted as a means to prove one’s identity.

The Schengen Area encompasses the following member states:

Member states (A-G) Member states (H-N) Member states (N-S)
Austria Hungary Norway
Belgium Iceland Poland
Czech Republic Italy Portugal
Denmark Latvia Slovakia
Estonia Liechtenstein Slovenia
Finland Lithuania Spain
France Luxemburg Sweden
Germany Malta Switzerland
Greece Netherlands